Back to Fedora

Wireless troubles just keep haunting me. Ubuntu’s madwifi module just didn’t cut it for some reason. I ran the following:
$ sudo ifconfig ath0 up
$ sudo wpa_supplicant -dd -Dwext -iath0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

That brings up the interface and starts the wpa_supplicant daemon in the foreground and outputs with the greatest verbosity. It connected to my access point. Good.

Opening up another terminal, I then ran:
$ sudo dhclient ath0

Well, that didn’t work. Don’t know why. But combining that with the maelstrom of modules I needed to clean up, the plugins yet to be installed, the problems with Xorg, etc. It was yet another problem for me to solve. I was expecting something a bit more functional and simple. I was expecting some userfriendly graphical user interfaces, some nice artwork (it did have that, admittedly), sensible defaults for desktop use, to make things a little bit easier. Something focussed on idiots such as myself.

Not that I really mind editing oodles of files. But that’s what I have Arch Linux for, and when it comes to speed, Ubuntu ain’t Arch.

So what is the hype around Ubuntu? I don’t really understand it. No, I was definitely expecting more from Ubuntu. Maybe it will mature in a few years. Better wireless support and an improved installer, that’s all it needs. Then it could really be quite excellent.
In the mean time, I’ve gone back to using Fedora again.

Leave a Reply

