Arch Linux: Pango-CRITICAL error and no fonts in GNOME

I recently upgraded the whole Arch Linux installation on my laptop. Everything went well, untill I rebooted and found that all fonts in GDM had suddenly turned into rectangles. The whole of gnome appeared to be afflicted, since starting gnome-font-properties from the CLI immediately revealed the same problem. And also a lot of “Pango-CRITICAL: bladiebladiebla” errors. Fortunately, I was using Fluxbox at the time, so all the non-gnome stuff was working just fine, which made the repair much easier.

After some searching on the Arch forums, I found a solution. As root execute the following command:

# pango-querymodules > /etc/pango/pango.modules

And that fixed it.

One Response to Arch Linux: Pango-CRITICAL error and no fonts in GNOME

  1. Espen Gya says:

    It worked for me too. Upgraded yesterday on my daughters machine and got this annoying problem. But, by following these instructions, I can see the fonts again.
    Tnx.

Leave a Reply

