Toshiba Tecra 8000 hard disk drive failure

I own a Tecra 8000 laptop, a dusty old thing. But with it’s 400 Mhz Pentium processor, 128MB RAM and 10GB hard disk drive, it is actually quite acceptable for e-mailing, surfing and blogging. And even more so when you run the i686 optimized Arch Linux distribution, as I did. But today this changed. The hard disk drive failed completely, I could not access it anymore in any way. Fiddlesticks! Well ok, it happens, it’s an old laptop after all. And I have backups of all important files, thankfully. So, I decided to yank it out.

It’s a 10GB 2.5″ toshiba drive. Removing it was very easy to do, so installing something else should be easy too. I am thinking about buying a 40GB replacement, also from toshiba. A 5400 RPM drive with 8MB cache, which should cost me around €70. If that works, I expect it will perform slightly better. There will probably be plenty more bottlenecks though, to prevent any spectacular improvements. But if, on the other hand, I must use the original 10GB drive, then I will have a much bigger problem. Because they are hard to find and extremely expensive (relatively speaking).

We shall see.

[UPDATE]
The toshiba hard drive works! See also this post for the exact model.

Leave a Reply

