The problem with hellanzb and local processing

Well, in spite of my attempt to use hellanzb in a script to automate par2 verifying and unrar-ing of my usenet downloads, I have still found an insurmountable problem. Of course, hellanzb was never designed with this particular use in mind, so I suppose I should not be too surprised.

The problem is defined as follows. Whenever I invoke hellanzb on a directory to process, containing many different downloads, it will verify all the par2 recovery blocks just fine, as long as they are complete. If, however, it finds a problem with one of the par2 recovery blocks, then it just stops right there and does not move on. It also does not extract the downloads that it just verified as having complete data integrity. Not good.

It seems that hellanzb, being designed for directories containing only one download at a time, is also treating directories with many downloads as if it is dealing with a single download! So when it finds a broken par2 block, then why indeed move on? That does seem logical. So for the kind of local processing I have in mind, hellanzb would really need a new and improved method.

In the mean time, I am occasionally reading from the “Advanced Bash-Scripting Guide”, as I try to write a shell script that does a better job. And searching google of course, to make sure I’m not reinventing a wheel or anything. But so far, no luck.

Leave a Reply

