OpenSUSE 10.2: how to keep the time with NTP?

I must say, OpenSUSE 10.2 is proving to be quite a veritable fountain of small annoying problems. Looking down at the clock on my computer screen, I read the time to be five past nine p.m. Yet looking outside, I can see a bright new day, with birds singing and trees basking in the warm light of the sun. Clearly, it is not displaying the correct time. Which means the damned NTP daemon is not doing it’s job. But how can this be? This is what I think is happening:

I have configured the clock to synchronize with time servers using the NTP protocol, and the NTP daemon is initialized during boot. But ntpd requires a network connection, which is at that time non-existent. That is because any and all network connections are managed by the NetworkManager, which does not become active untill KDE has loaded and I select one of the available networks to connect to. No connection means no synchronization, and no synchronization means the ntp daemon fails. And I wake up with this machine telling me it’s still yesterday evening.

I am still testing OpenSUSE 10.2, but this kind of problem is just a bad sign. I cannot believe I am the only one to notice this problem. The clock is so completely fundamental! Even the most minimal window managers such as blackbox come pre-configured with nothing, except a clock. Start a bare WM session, and next to the shell you’ll find the xclock. I guess I’ll just have to add this to my growing “todo” list. First I’ll try disabling “local clock” as a synchronization source in the NTP configuration menu. Will post back if that helps, or when I find a better solution.

Leave a Reply

