openSUSE and NTP problem solved?

This refers to the problem with openSUSE and NTP I wrote about yesterday. Finally found a solution. Started the /etc/sysconfig editor by selecting the following: YaST >> System >> /etc/sysconfig Editor
Then expanded the network section, and then the NTP section, which revealed a list of options. I gave the variable NTPD_ADJUST_CMOS_CLOCK a value of “yes”, which is required when the hardware clock is off by more than 15 minutes. Wow, that’s just sooooo obvious, isn’t it? Why didn’t I just think of that right away? I must really be stupid or something.

Still need to find out a way to load the fuse module on boot. And adding “fuse” to /etc/modprobe.conf.local is *not* working, by the by. So much trouble, for something that can easily be automated. Why in heaven’s name would I install fuse, if I did not intend to use it? It just makes no sense.

And so the test continues, while I fear the inevitable arrival of the next stupid little problem, which will consume a further few hours of my already too short life.

[EDIT]
As usual, I am mistaken. It appears the change in /etc/sysconfig has not helped solve the NTP problem, and my original assessment remains the more likely path to a possible solution: the point in the boot sequence when the ntp daemon is started is *wrong*, and must be corrected so that it’s initialization is deferred until NetworkManager has negotiated a connection. And if started before that time, that it at least keep trying, post init, to see if a connection is available.
I’ll do some more searching for a solution, and maybe post a question about this on LinuxQuestions.org

But I can’t believe it: years of development, years of evolution, a hypermodern operating system. And here I am, actually spending hours thinking about how to make openSUSE tell me the correct time. I must be out of my mind!
[/EDIT]

2 Responses to openSUSE and NTP problem solved?

  1. Philip Kay says:

    To get fuse to load at boot:
    1. Open YaST
    2. Go to System and edit /etc/sysconfig
    3. Go the “System” and then the “Kernel” section
    4. In the “MODULES_LOADED_ON_BOOT” option, type fuse in the text box.
    5. Then finish

  2. Menzonius says:

    That is exactly the solution I used; I figured it out the next day ;)
    But many thanks for helping!

Leave a Reply

