Not installing openSUSE…

I have concluded my testing of openSUSE 10.2:

– Wireless support still not good enough. The connection was fine, but NTP did not work with NetworkManager. Plus the non-oss CD does not contain a madwifi module; not a big minus, but a minus all the same.

– YaST is not quite as good as some other software/system administration tools I’ve used. Installing the fuse module, for example, should also configure the system so that the module is loaded automatically. Ubuntu 6.10 does this correctly, openSUSE 10.2 does not. YaST also seems quite slow and inefficient compared to many other systems I have used.

– There is still not enough support for accessing Windows shared files, even though in my test it works flawlessly with fusesmb. There is also still not enough support for NTFS. I want to plug in an external harddrive formatted with ntfs, have it automatically mounted and have read and write access. Does that happen? No. Can it be done? Yes. I know it can be done, because I did it in Ubuntu 6.10

– Other small problems occured, such as minor update errors and crashing kde components.

All in all, openSUSE 10.2 is a nice system, but it is not yet good enough. I’ll wait for the release of Fedora core 7, and then start playing/testing again.

Leave a comment